The Visioning Process

From Skitch

Photo by Jon Hanson, text added by TCoelho

PLATFORM

Finding the technology to create my vision was actually pretty simple.  I was exploring the BCTLA website, and found this great Powtoon video created by Dominique Sullivan and Jennifer Lunny.

PowerPoint and Google Slides are something that I have used often, but Powtoon is unique in as it allows you to animate your presentations.  Think of it as PowerPoint with a pow, and a bit of cartoons, hence the name PowToon.  It is extremely user-friendly, free and simply fun to use.  Their website provides many examples and excellent tutorials.  This is definitely a tool I will use in my classroom (and library) in the future.

As I was exploring possible platforms for creating my final vision, I contemplated using iMovie, but find it restrictive in some ways for presentations.  iMovie is excellent for video editing and creating videos with pictures, but not as useful for presentations.   There are other online options such as WeVideo, which is an option for digital storytelling using video and photos, but there are restrictions on usage and the cost is quite expensive – $249/year/classroom for 50 students.

PROCESS

 This is the third blog post in the visioning process.  The process is challenging.  I’ve spent the last two weeks finding information, research and determining the best audience for my presentation.  Since my first vision blog post where I revealed my topic and possible resources, my thinking has shifted.  My initial goal was to inform my audience about the role of Teacher-Librarians (TLs) in our schools.  After some research, and further contemplating my audience, describing the role of TLs is necessary, but data to support the impact of TLs on student learning in schools is even more necessary.  If my purpose is to advocate for increased hours for Teacher-Librarians in our education system, then the information in my presentation needs to support that purpose.    This shift has caused me to do further research and I have found a wealth of information.  The difficulty now becomes deciding what information to use.  As my presentation is restricted to 3 minutes, I will focus on the following resources:

America Association of School Librarians. (2014). American Libraries: School Libraries Transform Learning  (Digital supplement on school libraries). Retrieved on November 21, 2015, from  http://www.ala.org/aasl/advocacy/tools/transforming

BCTLA Working and Learning Conditions, Survey Results 2014-2015, Retrieved on November 28, 2015, from http://bctf.ca/bctla/pub/reports/wlc/1415WLCReport.pdf

Haycock, K. (2011).  Connecting British Columbia (Canada) school libraries and school achievement:  A comparison of higher and lower performing schools with similar overall funding. Retrieved on November 21, 2015, from http://works.bepress.com/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1105&context=ken_haycock.

NCTE. (2013). Framework for 21st Century Curriculum and Assessment. Retrieved on November 28, 2015, from http://www.ncte.org/governance/21stcenturyframework

Oberg. D.  “Ignoring the Evidence: Another Decade of Decline for School Libraries.” Education Canada.  55, no. 4. (2015) Retrieved on November 28, 2015, from  http://www.cea-ace.ca/education-canada/article/ignoring-evidence-another-decade-decline-school-libraries

Sykes, J. (2010). Transforming Canadian School Libraries to Meet the Needs of 21st Century Learners: Alberta Education School Library Services Initiative – Research Review and Principal Survey Themes, Retrieved on November 21, 2015, from https://education.alberta.ca/media/1293749/slsi_research.pdf

PRODUCT

 I am just beginning to create my final product.  The thinking and creating process can be quite lengthy for me.  I tend to be an ‘information gatherer’ who needs processing time before actually creating.  I diagram, I create outlines, and I dream about my projects before actually beginning the process of writing, making or creating in any form.  I am still reading and researching and have begun to play with Powtoon so I am familiar with the platform, but I do not yet feel ready to begin creating.  I’m still processing.  Unfortunately, there are no storyboards or drafts, just a whole bunch of facts and ideas in my brain waiting to be removed and placed on Powtoon slides.  Hopefully, my goal of describing the role of Teacher-Librarians and their importance in improving student learning in our education system will be ‘pow’erful.

ONE FINAL NOTE…

As we move towards our final products, I just wanted to share this short video by Derek Sivers, on the importance of sharing our ideas with others.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Visioning Process

  1. Pingback: The Visioning Process | The Nomad Review

  2. Excellent work on this post! You’ve clearly described the value and benefit of thinking out-loud and sharing the process, challenges, successes and innovative ways you are moving forward. You’ve collected a great amount of useful research that will inform and support your advocacy tool in ways that could not be denied or ignored. This final vision process and reflection along each step has been proven to help, engage and define the final product in ways that support learning, student engagement and community building. Looking forward to seeing your final pow-toon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

